Stockhill Wood – Priddy Mineries. 25.01.16.

stockhill

 

A different wood this time

Path wide – avenues like blunt cities of chopped hair – harsh tufts for broken walls – a Mohican street of dream places

 

Creepy man

 

Keep walking – wide paths

getting darker to the clearing with its worlds – its building sites of branches –

 

Moss pools

 

I enter in on padded pathways

a spring beneath my feet

laddered blackened bark

dells and stumps with leaf lettering

I wrote my first initial and moved on

A for Alice for Avenue for

deep deep burrows for the hidden mines

secret ents – there are tree characters

older than the others and in disguise

They have penpals

and secret post offices – deep deep burrows

the moss is alive with a thousand stars

and a miniature forest beneath this larger one

 

A forest within a forest

within a forest

 

Leave now

 

Pools of water and tufted mounds

the ground is in soaked craters

for forgotten work – deep deep below

feet push on leaden roofs

(I wonder when this water came)

the path is a stream – then clear

a monarch’s way for tin sheds

and lost caravans

metal spindle of a tall tower

I can see out for miles though high up I feel I should

road curves – round

trees again

and endless moss stumps

moss fingers – puffed out branches

with heavy tinsel

green green green

 

It’s time to go home.

Leave a comment